Selected Poems-Sylvia Plath – Insight Text Guide

Insight Text Guides take students into the deeper layers of meaning in a range of popular novels, plays, films, short-story collections and nonfiction texts. They are designed to develop detailed knowledge, in-depth understanding and genuine insight into each text.

The guides are written by practising English teachers, professional writers, reviewers and academics who are experts in their fields. Each guide presents a clear, comprehensive and accessible analysis.

There are over 150 titles in the Insight Text Guides series and new titles are published every year.


  • An overview of the text for quick reference, including notes on the author’s life and work, a plot synopsis, a character map and brief character summaries
  • Discussion of the historical, cultural and social contexts relevant to the text
  • Close analysis of each chapter/scene/story/poem, with questions
  • Detailed analysis of characters, themes and ideas
  • Discussion of different responses to and interpretations of the text
  • Guidelines on successful essay writing
  • Essay topics, a sample analysis of a topic and a sample essay on the text.

The Insight Text Guide Sylvia Plath’s Selected Poems analyses the Selected Poems, a collection chosen by Ted Hughes and first published in 1981. The following poems are analysed in some detail:

  • ‘The Moon and the Yew Tree’
  • ‘Mirror’
  • ‘The Manor Garden’
  • ‘Morning Song’
  • ‘The Munich Mannequins’
  • ‘Edge’
  • ‘Face Lift’
  • ‘Tulips’
  • ‘Spinster’
  • ‘The Stones’
  • ‘Full Fathom Five’
  • ‘Little Fugue’
  • ‘Daddy’
  • ‘Ariel’
  • ‘Lesbos’
  • ‘Nick and the Candlestick’
  • ‘Words’